Beautiful red earth - Rosso veneto

Imagine you walk through fields of grass, forests, fields of flowers, on a path that is pure earth. And then it starts to rain and you can smell the unique flavor of mother earth. Maybe it doesn't even have to rain - you can smell the energy from this magic element - you bend down and you let the earth running through your hands.

Have this picture set for a moment....

These moments are one of other inspirations to make me do my own natural simple paints. I was looking for a deep red and came to this wonderful pigment. Rosso veneto from italy finest earth. 

With this pigment I wanted to make a watercolor paint, using a ready water color binder and it worked very well. The one I used was from Schmincke "ready to use". It asks 2 parts binder and 1 part pigment (weight). Honestly I never quite follow receipes. So I blended both together, pressed the pigments down with a spatula, add more pigments, so much, to get a fluid that runs evenly over a spatula.

Then filling it in - in half pans - have it nicely lettered and named on the side... beautiful. 

And then... magic... paint, paint, paint.... 

Hope you find some inspiration and also gratefulness in mother earth.

 

How does your paint came out? How does it look on different kinds of paper? You are more then welcome to share it by giving comments below!

Here I used watercolor paper, medium, 250g/m2. But maybe you find it easier to draw on an other medium. Have fun, stay creative! And share it!

Thank you! 

Write a comment

Comments: 0